top of page

DIY Manicure

A manicure has always been a favourite treat of mine. Nothing better than sitting back, letting someone else do all the work, and leaving feeling pretty. But lately finding the time has been a challenge.

With the holidays coming up I wanted to take some time to treat myself so I gathered some readily available home items, my favourite holiday nail polish, and my nail care tools. Even though I did all the work the end goal, feeling pretty and pampered, was accomplish and I couldn't beat the price :P

So, here is my step by step for an at home manicure when you want to treat yourself:

1. Trim Nails

I trimmed my nails to the length I wanted. I keep my nails short so I only trim the top to square my nails.

2. File

I like to keep my nails square. I file the top and clean up the sides of my nails.

3. Soak

I soaked my nails in warm water for five minutes. I then rubbed my nails with coconut oil to soften the cuticles. This made the next steps easy peasy.

4. Push Back Cuticles

I used a wooden cuticle pusher but a flat surface will work - I've used pointy end of my nail file before. With whatever tool used, be gentle.

5. Trim Cuticles

I won't lie - this was one area I wished someone else was doing. I accomplished what I needed to so my cuticles looked tidy but I wasn't as successful as a pro would have been. Nonetheless, I used the cuticle scissors and slowly ran along my cuticle, being careful not to take off too much.

'

6. Exfoliate

I mixed some granulated sugar with coconut oil to exfoliate - so easy and does the trick. Rub the mixture all over your hands and nails. Take your time, it feels great!

7. Paint

Base coat, two coats of colour, and a top coat - I let each coat of colour dry for about five minutes

8. Moisturizer

Coconut oil for the win!

Alright, it pales in comparison to a professional manicure, but it's convenient and affordable. It's also an easy way to do something nice for yourself. Enjoy!

It's simple. I'm a mom, a wife, and a lifelong learner. I am an expert at nothing but am always in pursuit of deeper knowledge. As a mom, that's been no different. I want to share, learn, and explore life with my family in Niagara. 

about

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

follow

bottom of page